I am a 63 year old Professor at the University of Nottingham living in Leicester - a lovely multicultural city. Am married to Sylvia and we have a son, Gareth, who is a professional trumpet player and singer and we are very proud of him. I played cricket for 40 years to a good standard. After that I coached basketball but now spend time watching Gareth and taking my camera (a great camera) out and about. I am also politically active. I am a governor at a great primary school in Leicester - Sparkenhoe. Really enjoy playing a small part in helping them.


Sylvia used to work at Leicester College and was an excellent tutor to adults in functional skills.  She has now retired. She has 5 siblings and numerous nephews and nieces!


The rest of my family live in Sussex (except for a step dad, John, in Leicester). My Dad is 87 and I love him to bits. He is in a rest home but seems happy. He is a cricket nut supporting Sussex. I go down reasonably regularly to see him. My brother has a big family and lives in Littlehampton. I have a wide step family who live in South Africa and Sussex (same village as Dad).


Gareth plays in various bands but especially the King Brasstards. He also plays in The South, who are a great live band and with Neville Staples, Symarip and Vintage Trouble. He has a developing solo singing career. Here he is!


Cricket has been my love since I was 14. I was brought up in Worthing and played for Findon as a colt and until I was about 25. I moved to London and played for Whyteleafe and a civil service team. Then we moved to Leicester where I played for Leicester Academicals (Leicester Polytechnic staff team) and we then merged with Westfields. Westfields unfortunately folded and I joined Leicester Taverners. After a few years we merged with Makers Edge and became Makers Edge Taverners. Throughout this time I usually opened the batting. I played representative cricket as a teenager but the highlight was representing the Leicestershire League in my 40s! 


I am a member at Leicestershire county cricket club and get there as much as I can.